Arturo Vidal demanded that they stop the game to review a hand in the area, and Roldán did not charge a penalty: the VAR audios.
The Chilean midfielder had the ball thrown outside for the judges to check an alleged hand in the Paraguay area. But, finally, they did not sanction anything.
The arrival of the VAR brought new peculiarities to world football. One of those rarely seen scenes occurred in Paraguay's 2-0 win over Chile for the Copa América. Arturo Vidal was sure that a rival had touched the ball with his hand inside the area, to such an extent that he demanded a teammate to throw the ball outside so that the judge goes directly to the VAR to check the play. However, the result was not what he expected, and controversy broke out.
The primary judge Wilmar Roldán had not noticed any strange situation and only warned "he lets himself fall" in the face of the initial claims, thinking that they were asking him for some physical fault. Quickly, from the VAR, they warned: "Possible hand they ask. As a result, they began reviewing photographs in the area. "Wilmar doesn't resume," they warned him.
"I see a possible subjection; I don't see what Arturo is asking for," explained the Colombian Roldán to his colleagues in the technology booth. His phrase was related to the Chilean midfielder demanding that a teammate throw the ball outside even though they had possession because he was convinced that it had been a hand. The primary judge, for now, had his eyes focused on the struggles between Paraguayan full-back Alberto Espínola and Chilean footballer Enzo Rocco. "They're asking for a possible hand," Roldan said later.
"No restraint, possible hand," clarified the Brazilian Traci who led the VAR. "Wilmar, make the signal then," said the Colombian Jhon Ospina, who was as an assistant to VAR. Meanwhile, Traci kept looking in detail: "I see possible hand 7". Although Ospina already issued his sentence: "It seems to me that he plays the ball first. "
While the booth was defining if it would call him to see the screens, Wilmar insisted with a "possible restraint," something that his colleagues ruled out: "There is no restraint; we are reviewing a possible hand." "I do not see that because I am attentive to the possible subjection. I don't see the other thing," Roldán was honest. "I recommend OFR for possible penalty hand," Traci called him to see the plays on the screen again.
When the player ascends, with controversy, moves forward, the player touches the ball with his head and then in the defender's hand, he would describe in detail to the VAR when the referee approached the screens. "I see head here; in this shot, I see the head," he warned them before the repetitions. "Ospina, where is the hand?" He asked his compatriot who was in the AVAR. "It hits the head, played by him, and then hits the hand. Due to the game context, it is not a penalty because first, it hits the head and then the hand", Wilmar quickly analyzed. "Perfect Wilmar," all agreed from the technological tool.
"At 71 minutes, a player in white deliberately plays the ball with his head, which then touches his arm. The referee does not observe the action. The VAR analyzes the situation with different angles and speeds. They decide to call the referee for a field review. The referee, when observing the different images and seeing that the player deliberately plays the ball with his head and then touches his arm, decides to uphold his decision", specified the voice-over that Conmebol places in each VAR audio to publicize the arbitration determination.