Disqualifying kick to the chest and direct red: the violent action of Gabriel Jesus against Eugenio Mena.

Disqualifying%20kick%20to%20the%20chest%20and%20direct%20red%3A%20the%20violent%20action%20of%20Gabriel%20Jesus%20against%20Eugenio%20Mena.
source: www.archysport.com

Disqualifying kick to the chest and direct red: the violent action of Gabriel Jesus against Eugenio Mena.

Lucas Paquetá had just celebrated a goal that had helped to decompress an atmosphere of tension at the Nilton Santos Olympic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro. 

After Lucas Paquetá's goal opened the scoring, the Brazilian striker gave a disqualifying kick that took him out of the duel against Chile.

Lucas Paquetá had just celebrated a goal that had helped to decompress an atmosphere of tension at the Nilton Santos Olympic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro. Brazil had not been able to dominate Chile throughout the first half and striker Olympique de Lyon, in the first minute of the complement, scored the 1-0 goal after jumping from the substitute bench at halftime. However, the joy was short-lived because Gabriel Jesus immediately left expelled.

The attack reference of Tite's team committed an unintelligible infraction, loaded with violence. They were 2 minutes into the second stage when Claudio Bravo, a few meters outside his area, tried to search with a long send to Eugenio Mena in the left sector of the playing field.

The Manchester City forward was located several meters from the Racing defender. Still, when he warned that the ball would be thrown at him, he ran at full speed. His head wavered between looking at Bravo and observing Mena's location. When the ball was falling on the head of the Chilean defender, Gabriel Jesus jumped without explanation with his leg raised and gave his opponent a disqualifying shot. His plugs brushed the face of the left side and hit the shoulder squarely.

Argentine referee Patricio Loustau did not hesitate: he ran quickly to the event area and took his red card. The 24-year-old forward did not protest the decision. Luckily for coach Martín Lasarte, Mena continued on the court without problems despite the disqualifying kick.

A not minor detail is that the judge had not shown cards until that moment, nor had he had controversial scenes throughout this second duel of the quarterfinals of the Copa América. Minutes later, Loustau, at the request of his assistants on the court and in the VAR, annulled a Chilean goal for offside.