Liga MX announced the return of the Ballon d'Or 2021.


The ceremony will reward the best exponents of Mexican soccer; the ceremony will take place on July 17.

Different activities of the Mexican sport are being restored; in Mexican soccer, the tournaments were resumed in their various categories, where Cruz Azul was champion of the First Division of the League. Tigres won their fourth title in the MX Women's League.

Recently, Liga BBVA MX announced the return of the Ballon d'Or Awards to reward the best exponents of Mexican soccer. Through an official statement shared on social networks, the league announced the reinstatement of the award for the best of the year. But, unfortunately, in 2020, the ceremony had to be postponed due to the situation in the country due to the coronavirus.

Now that the conditions are different, another edition of the awards will celebrate the best participants in the Mexican tournament. In addition, it should be noted that the 2021 Ballon d'Or will include prizes for the players of the Women's League.

For this year's edition, the ceremony will take place next Saturday, July 17, at 11:00 p.m. Central Mexico. The event will be held in Los Angeles, California, in the United States. The day before the Campeón de Campeones game that León and Cruz Azul will play on July 18 at 6:30 p.m., which will also be played in California.

Some of the categories that will be awarded at the ceremony are:

 Best Goalkeeper

* Best Side

* Best Defense

* Best Defensive Midfielder

* Best Offensive Middle

* Best Forward

* Rookie of the Year

* Top Scorer of the Season

* Best Technical Director

* Best Goal

* Best Player of the Season

On the other hand, La Liga MX pointed out that the 2021 edition will have a segment to award the best of the Liga MX Femenil in Best Player and Rookie of the year.

Another announcement that will be released at the ceremony will be the list of players who will participate in the all-star game against MLS figures. The All-Star Game between Liga MX and MLS will occur next Wednesday, August 25, at  9:00 p.m. Central.

The award ceremony can be seen through the TUDN signal in Mexico. For its part, the Liga BBVA made various publications on its social networks to advance the news of the award. Furthermore, during the weekend, the official account of the league gave signs that this year the ceremony would take place.

The award for the best of Mexican soccer arose from the Mexican Soccer Federation ( FMF ) promotion to highlight the best exponents of soccer in Mexico. The first edition occurred in the 1974 - 1975 season. Previously, the Ballon d'Or in Mexico was called Citlalli. Still, for the Clausura 2003, the name was changed as it is currently known.

The last ceremony was held in 2019 where some of the winners were: Guido Rodríguez as the best player of the year, at that time, Rodríguez belonged to the América club. The goal of the year was won by Rogelio Funes Mori, from Monterrey, who is now a naturalized Mexican player.

The forward of the 2019 edition was awarded to the French André Pierre Gignac of the UANL Tigres team. The attacking midfielder of the year was Ángel Mena de la Fiera de León. Finally, the rookie of the year was awarded to goalkeeper Sebastián Jurado; at that time, he was playing for the Veracruz team, now he is a member of Cruz Azul and will represent the country at the Tokyo Olympics.