The rude errors of the referee Wilmar Roldán and the VAR in Paraguay-Chile for the Copa América

The%20rude%20errors%20of%20the%20referee%20Wilmar%20Rold%E1n%20and%20the%20VAR%20in%20Paraguay-Chile%20for%20the%20Copa%20Am%E9rica
source: today.in-24.com

The rude errors of the referee Wilmar Roldán and the VAR in Paraguay-Chile for the Copa América: two clear penalties that were not sanctioned.

The judge did not collect two shares, one for each team. In the first, he did not resort to the assistance of the video, and in the second, there was a review only because Vidal cut the game aside.

The match that closed the fourth date of Group A of the Copa América in Brazil had a great victory for Paraguay over Chile 2-0. The team led by Eduardo Berizzo made merits to keep the three points. Still, the meeting had its controversial framework due to the marked failures of the referee Wilmar Roldán and the VAR in two key plays with two penalties that had to be charged, one for the Guarani and another for trans-Andean people.

Although both teams have players with personalities and who tend to get into rough play during the first half, it did not progress. Even a brawl was generated when both teams went to the locker room—a few more words, a few slight struggles, and nothing more. When the protagonists returned to the playing field, they greeted each other.

But the first strong controversy came in the complement, with the match already 2-0 in favor of Albirroja. The first penalty not charged by the judge occurred at minute 21 when Paraguayan midfielder Miguel Almirón got into the area. When he was ready to finish, Chilean Charles Aránguiz took it, and both ended up on the floor.

What was striking was that Roldán did not resort to VAR, despite the protests. However, he is known as a referee who is not prone to that tool and is confident that he considers that what he sees is very difficult for him to change. Notwithstanding that, the VAR wrongly accompanied the criteria and the judge's decision. It was a clear foul by Aránguiz on Almirón, and the VAR had to review the play anyway. So the rude mistake was twofold.

Although the meeting delivered another controversy, it was at 27 minutes after a corner kick in favor of Chile, from the right, executed by Pablo Galdames. Carlos González jumped, headed, but then touched the ball with his right fist. The reiteration from the camera that was on the playing field was eloquent.

The play continued, and the Chilean players kept the ball. Convinced that it was a hand, Arturo Vidal told his teammate Jean Meneses to throw the ball outside to force the VAR to verify if there was a hand-held infraction. They reviewed it but did not consider it because when jumping, they understood that the hand took a natural position. When the ball became, after deflecting on the head, it was the ball that sought that hand/arm touch and not the other way around—big mistake.

This action should have been considered a fault because the right arm was directly tilted in an unnatural way and in the ball's direction, which when it fell hit and changed its direction. It should have been punished with a penalty.

In summary, both plays counted a double error: the referee and the VAR. This is because he did not find clear errors and technical assistance guilty because it is in line with the judge's erroneous decision, as in the first case he did not call him to review the infraction against Almiron. It is not surprising that this happens with Wilmar Roldan, who, as I said above, is an "anti-VAR" judge, that there is hardly anything that makes him change his mind.